top menu

Fifteen 2023 IEC Memorial Scholarships Available

Illinois electric cooperatives will award 15 scholarships in 2023 to financially assist deserving students in the electric cooperative family. The 15 scholarships, $2,000 each, will be awarded through the Thomas H. Moore Illinois Electric Cooperatives (IEC) Memorial Scholarship Program.

Nine scholarships will be awarded to high school seniors whose parent(s) are an Illinois electric co-op member. A 10th scholarship, the Earl W. Struck Memorial Scholarship, will be awarded to a student who is the child of an Illinois electric cooperative employee or director. Four additional scholarships are reserved for high school seniors enrolling full time at a two-year Illinois community college whose parent(s) are an Illinois electric cooperative member, employee or director.

The 15th scholarship, the LaVern and Nola McEntire Lineworker’s Scholarship, will help pay for costs to attend lineworker school conducted by the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives in conjunction with Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield, Ill. Children of co-op members, relatives of co-op employees or directors, and individuals who have served or are serving in the armed forces or National Guard are all eligible for this scholarship.

“We hope to assist electric cooperative youth while honoring past rural electric leaders with these scholarships,” says Executive VP & General Manager, David Johnston. “Southern Illinois Electric Cooperative and the other Illinois electric cooperatives are always seeking ways to make a difference in our communities. One of the best ways we can do that is by helping our youth and investing in them through programs like this one.”

Deadline to apply is Dec. 31, 2022. The lineworker scholarship deadline is April 30, 2023. For more information regarding the scholarships, contact Director of Member Services, Brent Goforth. Information has also been shared with area high school guidance counselors and is available online at